Summer vacation is kind of on…

This is our first week of summer vacation. But nothing is like I imagined it to be. For starters summer is late. Its cold, and rainy. I had plans. Artistic plans. I thought I could take the family to the outdoors pool or perhaps the beach all day long, and as they swam, I could sit there and sketch all day long, and then come home and make it real. But since we lack summer, warmth and pool all day long, the family want other things. So we take small trips here and there. I like it, don´t get me wrong, but my plans are changing. I´m still creating, but not as much.

Yesterday I just had to sit down and create something in my over sized, A3, Moleskine art journal. I love the size of it. Love Moleskine. I once thought I didn´t, but now I´m back. The papers are perfect for art journaling, and the pages do bend where the pages meet. With thicker paper, like when it is in water color paper, it is harder, and there for harder to work in. That’s my opinion.

Any way… I wanted to make a spread that could symbolize the sisterhood I feel in this arty world that I have come across. I love the friendships, the support and encouragement and not to forget the inspiration. Here is to all of you out there that I have met in the arty world, most of you online, but some in real life. And in less then three months, I´ll get to meet more of you, in Italy!

A mixed media art journal spread made by Camilla Olsson Art, in her A3 Moleskine

A mixed media art journal spread made by Camilla Olsson Art, in her A3 Moleskine

A mixed media art journal spread made by Camilla Olsson Art, in her A3 Moleskine

A mixed media art journal spread made by Camilla Olsson Art, in her A3 Moleskine

A mixed media art journal spread made by Camilla Olsson Art, in her A3 Moleskine

8 thoughts on “Summer vacation is kind of on…

  1. Beautiful warm tones in this piece and I love your range of mark making. Lovely. I can relate to what you wrote about not having as much time to devote to art with it being summer. I have a long and lengthening list of ideas for ink drawings and lino block prints but no time in which to actually do anything creative. We will both just have to over-indulge in art once school is back in session.

Comment

